SBS Bank Hawkins

Canterbury Rugby and Crusaders Congratulate Awards Winners

15 Jan 2016

Matt JamesThe Canterbury Rugby Awards evening held last month was a celebration of success in the Canterbury and Crusaders region.  The annual event at Horncastle Arena is to recognise and reward the hard work of many of those involved with rugby in this region, from players and coaches to volunteers and across a number of representative teams.

Canterbury Rugby and Crusaders CEO Hamish Riach said it was a superb evening and great to see some of the region’s top and emerging talent recognised.

“There were obviously some ups and downs over the year, but overall we have finished the year in good heart.  We have some incredible talent in this region, including winners of the World Rugby Men's and Women's Players of the Year in Dan Carter and Kendra Cocksedge, the ITM Cup winning Canterbury team and our Jock Hobbs Memorial Under 19 champions,” Mr Riach said.  "There are many more people who have contributed to the success of rugby here in various ways and, while we could not possibly individually acknowledge them all, last night was an opportunity to collectively thank all of those involved."

"There were also some sad moments as we remembered all of those who we have lost in our rugby community this year.  Norm Berryman was the first Crusader to have passed away earlier in the year and a teammate and friend to many who were in the room; the recent and sudden loss of Ashley Club stalwart Andrew Dunbar is still being keenly felt by all of those who knew him; and our 2015 Volunteer of the Year, Derek Burrell, sadly passed away just two weeks earlier so had his award collected by his wife and son.  We are a tight knit rugby community so when we lose someone who has contributed so much we all feel it," Mr Riach said.

“The night was a wonderful opportunity for so many of those involved with Canterbury Rugby and the Crusaders, whether they be the players, coaches, staff, sponsors or volunteers, to get together, share some memories, and enjoy an evening of celebration and reflection on the 2015 year."



Volunteer of the Year Award

The Canterbury Rugby Football Union Volunteer Trophy

Winner: Derek Burrell 

Outstanding Off-field Achievement Award

Pat Vincent Award

Winner: Luke Whitelock

Academy Player Award

Frank Creighton Trophy

Winner: Mitchell Dunshea

Men's Sevens Player of the Year Award

Winner: Matt James (Pictured with CRFU Chairman, Trevor McIntyre - Ken Baker Photography)

Women's Sevens Player of the Year Award

Winner: Zoey Berry (Pictured with CRFU Board Member, Simon Forrest - Ken Baker Photography)

Under 19 Player of the Year Award

Dennis Young Trophy

Winner: Anty Burnett

Colt Player of the Year

The WD Johnstone Memorial Trophy

Winner: Sam Godwin

Women's Player of the Year 

The Townsend Trophy

Winner: Alana Bremner

Maori Player of the Year Award

Canterbury Maori Trophy

Winner: Henare Faithful

Most Improved Crusader Award

Winner: Mitchell Drummond

Crusaders Rookie of the Year

Winner: David Havili

Crusaders Player of the Year Award

Winner: Samuel Whitelock

The ITM Cup First Year Player Award

Merivale-Papanui Trophy

Winner: Mitchell Dunshea

Players Team Player of the Year Award

Winner: Tom Taylor

The Canterbury Rugby Supporters Club Canterbury Player of the Year Award

Canterbury Rugby Supporters Club Player of the Year Trophy

Winner:  Ryan Crotty


Site by Orbital Ltd