SBS Bank Hawkins

Canterbury Teams Head to Rotorua to Vie for Sevens Glory

15 Jan 2016

Canterbury Womens Sevens RugbyThe Canterbury Men’s and Women’s Sevens teams to compete at the National Sevens tournament this weekend have been named and players will be preparing to not only help their team to the win but also to catch the eye on national sevens selectors in the most important year yet for this sport.

Sixteen Men’s teams and 10 Women’s teams will compete in the two-day tournament which kicks off at Rotorua International Stadium this Saturday, 16 January.

The tournament kicks off an exciting year of sevens rugby, with it becoming an Olympic sport for the first time in Rio de Janiero this August. Both the men’s and women’s national team coaches will be on the sidelines and are looking to finalise their squads for 2016.

The Canterbury Men’s team is in a pool with Waikato, Manawatu and Tasman, which the Canterbury Women share their pool with Manawatu, Auckland, Wairarapa Bush and Tasman.  The full draw for the weekend can be viewed here.

The Canterbury Men's team are again coached by Jason Tiatia and assisted this year by Rowan O'Gorman. The line-up includes former Samoan Sevens International, Anthony Tailua, young exciting players from the Condor Sevens competition, including Jesse Houston, Cam Russell, and Josh McKay, as well as familiar faces in Milford Keresoma (pictured below - Photosport) and Willie McGoon.

The Women's team, winners of the Southern Regional Tournament, are this year are lead by new coaches Wayne Marsters and Aaron Jones. The team are fortunate to have a number of familiar faces from last season, including World Rugby and New Zealand Rugby, Women's Player of the Year, Kendra Cocksedge, who co-captains the side with Lucy Anderson. The team is also boasted by NZ Sevens representative Ruby Tui, as well as other returning players from last seasons strong squad - Lucy Ryan, Keisha Grant, Becky Davidson (pictured below - Photosport), and Te Rauoriwa Gapper,

Footage is Live on Sky Sport 3 from 10am, both Saturday and Sunday.


Milford Keresoma Canterbury Men’s Sevens team:  

  First name Last name
1 Jesse Houston
2 Amanaki Nicole
3 Desmond Spooner
4 Salesi Rayasi
5 Cameron Russell
6 Lawrence Babe
7 Milford Keresoma
8 Willie McGoon
9 Inoke Rasabale
10 Josh McKay
11 Anthony Tailua
12 Brad Tucker

Head Coach: Jason Tiatia

Assistant Coach: Rowan O'Gorman

Manager:Trevor Best

Physio: James Sincock

Trainer: Hoani Smith


Canterbury Women’s Sevens team:  

  First name Last name
1 Lucy Ryan
2 Keshia Grant
3 Sui Peter
4 Cassandra Engler
5 Sam Curtis
6 Taylor Curtis
7 Estelle Uren
8 Ruby Tui
9 Kendra Cocksedge
10 TeRauoriwa Gapper
11 Rebecca  Davidson
12 Lucy Anderson


Head Coach: Wayne Marsters

Assistant Coach: Aaron Jones

Manager: Rob Goodman

Physio: Angela Mackie

Trainer: Josh Groube

Links Referenced

Site by Orbital Ltd