SBS Bank Hawkins

Canterbury's U19 Squad Named for Nationals

26 Sep 2015

Canterbury U19Canterbury’s U19 squad has been named ahead of this week’s Jock Hobbs Memorial National U19 Tournament getting underway. The tournament, in its second year, will take place at Owen Delany Park in Taupo over three match days on 27 and 30 September and 3 October. 

After the successful inaugural tournament last year, New Zealand Rugby (NZR) is making this a regular on the rugby calendar in order to help develop emerging talent in the Under 19s age group. 

Canterbury U19 Coach Mark Brown said he has a quality squad that will be real competitors in this year’s tournament.

“We have a really exciting group of young men making up this squad.  They have all earned their place in the national squad by putting in solid performances during the qualifying tournament, and we are all really looking forward to stepping up to the next level now in Taupo,” Brown said.  

“This tournament provides a great opportunity for our province’s young players to improve showcase their skills in a pressure environment which can only be good for and continue their rugby development. It is a fantastic opportunity to test their talent themselves against players from a similar age group and I know that these boys are up to the challenge.”

Canterbury qualified top of the South Island qualifying tournament, beating Southland 71-10, Tasman 29-5 and Otago 54-11.

New Zealand Rugby General Manager of Rugby, Neil Sorensen, said the tournament provided a pathway for emerging  players and provided them with every reason to stay in the game and aim for higher honours, such as their full Provincial Union side and NZ U20 side.

“Many of the players involved in last year’s tournament went on to higher honours, including representing New Zealand at the World Rugby Under 20 Championship in Italy”.

The Under 19 tournament includes 16 teams; 14 provincial union teams, an additional Auckland B side and a Heartland Unions side. Teams compete across two divisions (premiership and championship) for the Graham Mourie Cup and the Michael Jones Trophy. Each squad is made up of players who currently play club rugby in their Provincial Union and who are under 19 as at 1 January 2015.  

Media and supporters will be able to keep up with all the action at the official tournament Facebook page – NationalUnder19s, by following #JHU19s and on Sky Sport. 

The Canterbury Under 19 team is:

1 Joel Hintz Prop
2 Sean Paranihi Prop
3 Samuel  Lane Prop
4 Tana Luke Prop
5 Matthew Morrison Hooker
6 Callum Burrell Hooker
7 Caleb Aperahama Lock
8 Ben  Morris Lock
9 Hamish Dalzell Lock
10 Jack  McCormack  Lock/Loose forward
11 Andrew Hull Loose Forward 
12 Elia Elia Loose forward/Hooker
13 Charlie Gamble Loose Forward 
14 Anthony   Burnett Loose Forward
15 Logan Crowley Halfback
16 Reuben Spicer Halfback
17 George  Stratton Inside Back/Midfield
18 Brett Cameron Inside Back
19 Jacob  Whitaker Midfield 
20 Jordie Barrett Midfield 
21 Cameron Bailey Midfield 
22 Fraser Scott Wing
23 Daniel  Henderson Wing
24 Salesi Rayasi Wing
25 Caleb  Makene  Fullback


Head Coach – Mark Brown

Assistant Coach – Nathan Mauger

Assistant Coach – Johnny Leo’o

Manager – Stu Hunter

Strength and Conditioning Coach – Sim Joplin

Physiotherapis – Kurt Harrington

Technical Coach and Video Analyst – Peter Bowden

Links Referenced

Site by Orbital Ltd