SBS Bank Hawkins

Canterbury Under 19 - Jock Hobbs Memorial National Tournament Champions!

5 Oct 2015

Canterbury Under 19The Canterbury Under 19 team have won the Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament, clinching the Graham Mourie Cup, after beating Waikato in an exhilarating final 41-35 on Saturday evening, in Taupo.

After trailing 17-21 at half time, and for most of the match, Waikato seemed to have the control. They followed their half time lead with a converted try soon after the break to extend their lead to 28-17, but Canterbury never gave up. They built good phases of play, scoring points from a number of persistent rolling mauls, to claw back to a 34-28 lead with minutes to play.

When the game seemed like it was finally Canterbury’s, Waikato scored with only minutes left to play to take back the lead, 35-34. But in true Canterbury style, lead well by Captain Elia Elia, the team made a last ditch stab of attack in the last minute of play, for right-wing Fraser Scott to dot down in the corner, followed by a Brett Cameron conversion to claim the National title with a 41-35 win!

Prop Joel Hintz said, “We knew we had to get to their 22 and work hard with no respect for our shoulder – and just grind it out in the last 15 minutes.”

Canterbury’s outstanding loose forward Charlie Gamble was also awarded the Sir DJ Graham Award, as player of the tournament.


Site by Orbital Ltd